We're Still Here

We're Still Here is a feature-length documentary edited, shot and co-produced by Karim López. It was directed by Antonino D’Ambrosio, and based on his book, A Heartbeat and a Guitar, which tells the fascinating story of Johnny Cash's little-known Native American protest album, Bitter Tears , recorded for Columbia Records in 1964.

The documentary depicts the 2014 recording of Look Again to the Wind: Johnny Cash's Bitter Tears Revisited, a re-imagining of the original album, featuring Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle, Bill Miller, Gillian Welch, Dave Rawlings and others. It also explores the American historical moment which produced the album, including the Civil Rights and Native American struggles; as well as the cultural, political, artistic importance of Johnny Cash, and folk-singer Peter LaFarge, who wrote most of the songs on the album.

We're Still Here was an official selection of the 2015 IDFA, and aired nationally on PBS in 2016, during their Native American Heritage month.

We're Still Here (Ira Hayes)

We're Still Here (Look Again & Vanishing Race)

We're Still Here (Look Again & Vanishing Race)

We're Still Here (Steve Earle)